Liberal Democrats announce South East region candidates for European elections

The Liberal Democrats have today announced their list of MEP candidates in the South East constituency for the European elections on the 23rd May.

The diverse list of candidates includes a current MEP, Councillors and other hard working community activists.

The Liberal Democrats will fight the elections as an unapologetically pro-European Party campaigning hard to stop Brexit and restore Britain’s tarnished reputation in Europe.

Lead MEP candidate for the South East region, Catherine Bearder MEP, said:

“Today we’ve announced a strong, diverse mix of candidates ready to positively represent the South East region in the European Union.”

“We will fight these elections on a clear message: a Liberal Democrat vote is a vote to stop Brexit.”

Antony Hook, Faversham's elected representative on Kent County Council said:

“Liberal Democrats are determined to give a voice to the millions of people who demand better than Brexit Britain.”

“With 16 years’ service as a barrister including with international experience, I believe I am well placed to skilfully represent South East England in Brussels at this critical moment for our country.”

Judith Bunting, Activist and TV producer, from the West Berkshire area, commented:

“If elected, I will work in Europe to reduce Carbon emissions, combat climate change and tackle the cross border crime that plagues our communities. I am committed to stopping Brexit. The Liberal Democrats are the only true party of remain. “

Martin Tod, Hampshire County Councillor & Winchester City Councillor, said today:

“I am sick of seeing footage of Nigel Farage and Dan Hannan spout nonsense in the European Parliament as they betray our national interest. As a Liberal Democrat MEP, I will go back at them, hard.”

“Britain should be leading in Europe, not leaving.” 

The Liberal Democrat European list for the South East region 

South East (10)

Catherine Bearder


Anthony Hook


Judith Bunting


Martin Tod


Liz Leffman


Chris Bowers


Giles Goodall


Ruvi Ziegler


Nick Perry


John Vincent


Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.